How do we know when a message is delete?

Chris Aylott
Chris Aylott
  • Updated

When an object has been deleted you will receive a 404 response.

 

The typical workflow is:

  1. Customer deletes object on provider or via API
  2. Message moved to Trash folder on provider. Webhook message.updated webhook sent
  3. Depending on policy on the provider or the next action this is either
    1. Default: kept for 30 days then deleted
    2. Instantly deleted
  4. If you make a request to fetch the object and it returns a 404, this means it has been deleted by the provider.

There no message.deleted webhook.  This information is not valuable to the developer, it would generate over 60% of the webhooks received. Assume a 404 response is a deleted object. 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.